2998. It makes scents

The neighbours seem forever to be throwing loud parties. In fact it’s only two or three times a month but it feels like every day. I don’t mind them partying, but it’s the THUMP! THUMP! THUMP! of the music that drives me crazy. I asked once if they could turn it down. They looked at me as if I was from Mars and carried on partying.

I even tried going to see a movie at the theatre but it finishes around ten in the evening and I’ve still got three or four hours of the THUMP! THUMP! THUMP!

Recently during a party the power went off – in the whole street. I thought the party might dissolve but it took only one charged phone to get the THUMP! THUMP! THUMP! going again. I thought working for the power company might be to my advantage. But no.

For the last party I came up with the ultimate solution, but unfortunately I can only use it once without creating suspicion. At the back of my house is an old wattle tree. I remember as a kid if you crush a wattle seed and spit on it, it stinks like you wouldn’t believe. So I crushed a couple of handfuls and spat on them. Then I wandered around the neighbour’s house dropping the stink bombs. It didn’t take long to have an effect. The party folded up within half an hour. Everyone left.

I myself am going to the movies. The pong wafts over the fence from the party house. It’s horrible to the point of making me sick. Hopefully by the time I get back the wattle seeds will have run out of stench.

22 thoughts on “2998. It makes scents

  1. Ordinary Person

    Is this a true story? Once my friend threw this huge party THUMPS and all. We rented this place and drank and danced. I started wondering what the neighbours thought and felt only recently in my mid thirties.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Bruce Goodman Post author

      Not true, although occasionally (like once every two years) as kids we would bring stink bombs into the classroom. The teacher always made us close all doors and windows and sit there!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Please feel free to spout, tout, flout, sprout, pout, or simply say something sensible