2997. An affair

I knew Hubert was having an affair. His wife, Barbara, was my best friend. I was certain of one thing: I was not going to be the one to tell her.

Every Thursday Hubert works late. Of course he doesn’t. He waits at the office and then goes off to some fancy restaurant. Goodness knows how much this affair is costing him money-wise.

Barbara told me recently that she suspected Hubert was having an affair. I asked her how she knew, and she said that she simply felt it in her bones. I said not to be silly, but now she’s paranoid about it. I had no idea she had hired a detective to pursue Hubert’s infidelity. I think it’s going too far.

Anyway, there was hell to play when the detective caught Hubert red-handed. Barbara wants a divorce. The sooner this ugly divorce-mess is finalized the sooner Hubert and I can start living our relationship out in the open.

25 thoughts on “2997. An affair

Please feel free to spout, tout, flout, sprout, pout, or simply say something sensible