2999. Traditions of magic

I come from a long line of magicians. I don’t mean genetically; I mean that the magician’s tricks are passed on from one generation to another. The fledgling magician must promise never to reveal the secrets of each trick.

I learnt my magic from an old man who was frightened he might die before the secret skills had passed to a new generation. I became very good  at tricks. I was almost famous! But the time came when I too must pass the magician’s secrets on to another generation.

Toby was the perfect pupil. He was a quick learner and he practised the magician’s art to perfection. Then one day out of the blue he announced that he was publishing a book. The book would reveal the secrets of magicians going all the way back to medieval times. It was time, he said, for the world to share in the magician’s skills.

There was one trick however that I had never taught him. Quite frankly, I was genuinely sad when he died.

26 thoughts on “2999. Traditions of magic

  1. Sarah Angleton

    I assume the trick he never showed him was how to get the attention of an agent and land a traditional publishing contract, which I assume does actually require magic, of the dark variety that demands a blood sacrifice and communion with demons. And then Toby died of frustration. Same old story.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Please feel free to spout, tout, flout, sprout, pout, or simply say something sensible