2992. Wizardry

When Jacinda was fourteen years old she was trying to eat everything on her plate so as not to disappoint her mother. Her mother worked hard, would come home tired, and prepare dinner for herself and her daughter.

Jacinda detested kale, but she ate it because her mother grew some in a small plot at the back door. The rest of the meal was usually plain but nice enough. But kale! Yuk!

It was while Jacinda was doing her best one evening to stomach the kale when she said five words (which can’t be repeated here because everyone might start trying to use them). Her meal turned into the most delicious hamburger. Jacinda was shocked.

“Mother! Mother!” she said. “Look what happened! I simply said five words and my meal turned into a delicious hamburger.”

“I’ve been waiting to see if that should happen,” said Jacinda’s mother. “Your grandmother had that gift. Unfortunately I missed out on getting it. We come from a long line of wizards. You must be careful how and when you use such power.”

From that day on Jacinda and her mother ate nothing but beautiful meals – devoid of kale. Jacinda learned to use her wizardry wisely.

You don’t believe me? Just look into any classroom. If the teacher is not crabby, ugly, mean, nasty, and wizened-up (literally) there can be no doubt that there’s a Jacinda relative smiling among the students.

19 thoughts on “2992. Wizardry

      1. Yvonne

        I did??? I mean, I did.

        Funny thing, that male teacher (John) married one of my classmates (Nina) who was my best friend. I lost touch with them, then stumbled across her on Facebook, It’s been about 70+ years since we last were in touch, so it’s been quite a walk down memory lane for both of us. John had just recently died when Nina and I made contact.

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply

Please feel free to spout, tout, flout, sprout, pout, or simply say something sensible