638. Copyright Notice

© Bruce Goodman 10 July 2015

638copyright

Oh me! Oh my!

It has come to my attention that a story I posted in March 2014 titled Family Picnic  has become a bit of a hit. Countless students (not just throughout the country, but throughout the WORLD) have copied my story. Many of them didn’t even bother to re-type it out. They simply copied and pasted and put their own name to it.

So many creative teachers (not just throughout the country, but throughout the WORLD) have demanded their class write a story about a family picnic. And what have the students copied? My story! My story! My story! Yay! Hurray!

Ms Destiny Divine of Sunnyrow High School in Nevada gave Elizabeth Broadbank an A+. This is an extraordinary little piece of writing, Elizabeth, scribbled Ms Divine at the bottom of Elizabeth’s essay. Why don’t you come around to my place next Saturday afternoon and we’ll discuss it in more intimate detail?

Herr Dietz Duckwitz from Passau in Bavaria gave Heinrich Schomburg an A+. Heinrich at least had the courtesy to translate the story into German (or at least he got his mother to do it). Dies ist extraorinary, Heinrich, wrote Herr Duckwitz. Sie sind ein verdammter Genie.

On and on has gone the cribbing. On and on has gone the praise. Several students have won scholarships to prestigious universities (not just throughout the country, but throughout the WORLD).

Personally, I regard anyone who steals my stories, and presents them as their own work, as rather sensible. Who doesn’t wish to succeed in life? And what a privilege! what a thrill! what an unmitigated honour! when someone steals my stories and gets praised to the skies.

The publishers don’t want my stories; let them eat shit; let them suck eggs. Anyone, just anyone, is welcome to pinch my stories (not just throughout the country, but throughout the WORLD).

Ich bin ein verdammtes Genie.

84 thoughts on “638. Copyright Notice

  1. thecontentedcrafter

    They do say that imitation is the highest form of praise – don’t ‘they’? Outright cribbing then must be akin to elevating you to god-hood in the writing world. Up there along with Hemingway, Shakespeare etc etc….! I can see the learned tomes in centuries to come ‘Who REALLY wrote ‘Family Picnic’?

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
          1. Bruce Goodman Post author

            To think – all these comment are appearing on my blog for “nice” people to read. However, anyone who can use the word “laconism” and with alacrity is very welcome and a genius. Sie sind ein verdammter Genie.

            Liked by 1 person

            Reply
              1. Bruce Goodman Post author

                How many languages have you got (under your belt)?
                Who are you (really)?
                Are you as old as me?
                What is the meaning of life?
                Who invented the steam engine? etc etc
                And why aren’t you in bed at this time?

                Liked by 1 person

                Reply
                  1. Bruce Goodman Post author

                    They’re tummy rumbles under you belt, you idiot. I don’t have any languages. When living in Quebec I would go into a shop and say “Rothmans” and the lady would give me a packet of cigarettes. That’s the extent of my French. My partner is Romanian. He speaks/writes nine languages.

                    Liked by 1 person

                    Reply
                    1. Bruce Goodman Post author

                      LMFAO! And now I really must stop turning my blog into Facebook – so some of this may possibly be wiped by morning (my time!) But I might email you, or you me perhaps at bbgoodman@stagebarn.com one day, because I do enjoy my new-found friendship and chatter with you, Oscar. You’re “one out of the bag”.

                      Liked by 1 person

  2. Susanne

    Google translate was most helpful. And I’d like to comment on your gift for naming your characters. Herr Duckwitz is definitely my new favourite.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
    1. Bruce Goodman Post author

      LOL! I tried Google translate, and it DID give something a little different (stronger) than what I had originally intended! also Duckwitz was originally Dixonhausen but I stumbled across Duckwitz (which apparently originated in Poland) and thought, that’s it!

      Liked by 2 people

      Reply
      1. redosue

        Do you think Herr Duckwitz has any distant cousins – maybe twice removed – in England? He sounds like a shady sort, like someone who might be hired to dump a load of poultry manure on the doorstep of one whose initials are BS.

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
        1. Bruce Goodman Post author

          He certainly intends, I believe, to visit his distant cousins, whose existence he has long known about, and bring a load of valuable manure for their garden as an introductory gift.

          Like

          Reply
          1. Cynthia Jobin

            Your poultry manure reminds me of a ride in the country with my grandparents when I was a kid. I saw a sign that said “Chicken Dressing” and could only imagine what that meant. When I asked, my grandpa said “Chicken shit.” Grandma said “tut..tut..we don’t say that word, we say chicken guano…”

            Liked by 2 people

            Reply
            1. Bruce Goodman Post author

              Thank you. I feel portly enough to be Falstaffian. I too have a chicken guano story! During my novitiate (1968), there was a Tongan novice who had only just begun to speak English in dribs and drabs. The Novice Master took us to collect “fowl manure” as we politely called it in the presence of the Novice Master, but Makafalani blithely continued to loudly call it “fucking chicken shit”.

              Liked by 1 person

              Reply
      1. belindacrane

        lol! Maybe the only picnics they’ve been on were shockers as well. So shocking they couldn’t put it into words …. so they used yours! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
    1. Bruce Goodman Post author

      Although this is a “fiction”, it does undoubtedly happen these day! My picnic story (in the past) was very popular with few “likes” but 30-40 hits via Google in a day – which always made me wonder!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

This is the chattanooga choo chew the fat chat:

