2340. Lucky photo

I was so glad I had my phone with me. I was walking quietly along the beach and this woman was letting her toddler paddle in the ripples at the shoreline. Suddenly, just as I passed, an orca (also known as a killer whale) appeared from nowhere, grabbed the toddler and went CHOMP!

The mother went into shock and simply stood there saying “My baby! My baby!”

I was so glad I had my phone with me and was able to take a photo. If I hadn’t had such a presence of mind my mates would never have believed me when I told them the story.

I walked further along the beach hoping to catch another attack. There were a few parents taking their toddlers for a paddle but the orca seemed to have been satisfied with just the one. It might be because orcas are known to attack humans only when they are in captivity. All in all it was a bit disappointing really.

40 thoughts on “2340. Lucky photo

    1. Bruce Goodman Post author

      I knew someone would point out – is it the toddler or the orca? I tried changing it but the sentence got so complicated that I thought every intelligent person (such as yourself) would know it was the toddler that was in captivity!

      Liked by 2 people

      Reply
          1. badfinger20 (Max)

            I know Bruce…I refuse to watch it. I have liberal and conservative friends who only want to talk about politics…I tell them…there is music and art in the world…and you want to talk about this?

            Liked by 1 person

            Reply
    1. Bruce Goodman Post author

      It works only one way – the aquarium manager actually ties up the victim in a seaweed organic rope and places it (the child – no older than 7) on the edge of the pool. Some Greenies objected to the practice but it was pointed out that the orcas were treated humanely.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Please feel free to spout, tout, flout, sprout, pout, or simply say something sensible