14 thoughts on “1090. Sign of the times

        1. Bruce Goodman Post author

          You’re not to blame – I think most have missed the punch line – and that’s my fault. It was actually an advert online for housing sales in NZ – it’s quite simple! Buy it and demolish because it’s unliveable, or else rent it out. NZ rented houses have no insulation, no heating, etc etc. The second to last house I lived in had 7 broken windows, and when I left they wouldn’t return the bond because “one window was more broken”. It wasn’t more broken, I’d just cleaned it! The last house gave me a breakdown – the landlords took me to court demanding over $5000 because I’d planted tomatoes where I shouldn’t have. They lost the court case, but as you know, court trials aren’t free. House for sale! Demolish or rent! I’ve never known a landlord who wasn’t a bastard.

          Liked by 1 person

          Reply
  1. simon682

    In my younger days I shared a house with another fellow. It was on the condemned list as it stood in the way of Huddersfield’s ring-road widening scheme. Under English law at the time this meant that the rent couldn’t be increased. It was no palace but we got it for £10 a month (between us). Which, even in the late seventies was cheap.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Bruce Goodman Post author

      WOW! WOW! £10 a month! At present I pay $420 a week rent on a $300 a week income! And I’m freezing to death, with the neighbour’s Rottweiler scaring me sh*tless!

      Like

      Reply
    1. Bruce Goodman Post author

      Very much to the point, thanks Derrick. All my life I’ve longed to buy a house but have never quite had the where-withal. Hence having had to move rented house 13 times in the last 16 years! Saw a lady on TV yesterday, complaining. She owned 61 houses and “you’ve no idea the low class renters we landlords have to put up with”!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. Bruce Goodman Post author

      The thing I dislike most about renting is that the landlords decide to sell once I’ve tidied the place up! I refuse to have an overgrown, unkempt garden! One landlord was grateful to me (but never said so) – they added 100 thousand to the selling price “because of the beautiful garden”!

      Like

      Reply

This is the chattanooga choo chew the fat chat:

