A personal announcement

An announcement to the multitudinous personages who follow my blog:

Greetings! ONE (and all)!

I’ve been in Neverland since finishing the 1001 stories, the 101 pieces of music, and assorted monthly poems in July 2016 – caught between the devil and the deep blue sea, caught between Scylla and Charybdis, caught between a rock and a hard place…

So I’ve decided I’m going to restart “A Story a Day”, with (at least for a time) the weekly bit of musical composition, and poems throughout each month using a set form.

Please just give me time to get things get started. I have to build up a “backlog” before beginning in order to prevent a breakdown! As some of you know, I’ve had chronic heart disease for the last 25 years – it takes me half an hour to put a shoe on! (Then there’s the other shoe!) So I don’t like stress!

Finally, so many of you have been an inspiration to me – with your writing and painting and photographing and blogging. But there’s three in particular I would like to thank for rekindling the desire to do something creative again: the late Cynthia Jobin (her WordPress site is now down, but how did she create such wonderful poetry and manage to involve herself with half of the bloggers in the world?); a former music student of mine, Jeremy Cullen, who earns a living (there are quite a few of them actually!) from being a professional music composer who recently sent me a CD of his piano music; and Uma from India who posts extraordinary reflections and stories and poetry emanating from some sort of sub-continental “dark night of the soul” – a world so unknown to me. These people should know that they strike a match and start creative fires…

OK – thanks for reading – I’ll get organised and begin soon!

Bruce

26 thoughts on “A personal announcement

  1. Yvonne

    Thank you for continuing to feed our appetites for your offerings.

    I can’t recall what happy happenstance allowed me to trip and stumble on your blog. I obviously got lucky for once. Maybe one day I’ll be in your neighbourhood and just stand around and grin at you.

    I miss Cynthia.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
    1. Bruce Goodman Post author

      Thanks, Yvonne. Have you made a recovery? Are you recoverable? Are you even covered!? I know it’s not often wise to answer such things in a public forum but I hope things are ok. Everyone hopes that of you!

      Like

      Reply
  2. Sarah Angleton

    I am so glad to read this news! And take all the time you need. Your loyal readers will still be here. Actually, that’s true even if you break down and miss a few days (or weeks or months) once in a while. No stress.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
    1. Bruce Goodman Post author

      Now calm down, Mother Noelle!! It is unlikely that a sudden departure from the blogosphere will be pre-planned and pre-announced! Thank you for instilling some excitement!

      Like

      Reply
  3. Shubha Athavale

    Hey Bruce! Looking forward to it! I miss Cynthia and also noticed that her Littleoldlady is now no longer available. There used to be days when I would read her poems and comments but won’t be able to do that anymore. I came to your blog because I read your comments on Uma Shankar’s blog…..small world.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. umashankar

    Bruce, how do I even begin thanking you for immortalising a tiny woodpecker fluttering forever in the subcontinental “dark night of the soul”? I don’t remember anyone capturing the essence of my existence as succinctly as that with a single flourish of his pen. I am thrilled by your resolve, saddened by your afflictions, and regaled by your fortitude. Unleash the dam, old friend, and carry me away!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

This is the chattanooga choo chew the fat chat:

