1029. Fastidious Johnnie

Claudia and Johnnie had been married for a good number of years. Over time, things that Johnnie did, little mannerisms and habits, began to annoy Claudia. Why, for example, did he always have to brush down the seat of the sofa before sitting down? The same for getting into the car. It was driving Claudia nuts.

There were other things too. The big annoyance was that he was older than she was. He had retired and stayed at home all day, while she still went to work. Talk about lazy. She almost pined for the day when he would pass away and she could live an independent life the way she wanted it. His fastidiousness was a constant aggravation.

Claudia thought Johnnie was eating unhealthily at lunch time when she wasn’t there. She began to prepare and leave healthy food for him to eat; organic fillings with gluten-free bread rolls, supplementary vitamin pills, non-fatty meats, and so on. No salt of course; never any salt.

After several months, Claudia discovered that Johnnie wasn’t eating the stuff she had prepared. He was eating junk food and hiding her preparations in the trash. No wonder the poison hadn’t worked.

18 thoughts on “1029. Fastidious Johnnie

  1. noelleg44

    I knew you’d have something naughty at the end. Frankly, maybe I could change fastidious Johnnie for Hubs. Hubs has far more annoying habits and I like junk food. Just kidding. After 50 years I gotten inured.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. umashankar

    It is always a pleasure to read your longer posts; I love the way you set up things. Obsessions often lead to a game of chess where the brain is invariably the king over a burning heart. The dramatic denouements of your story remind me of a tale from Panchtantra. One of these days I will retell the story at my blog. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Bruce Goodman Post author

      I look forward to your retelling of the Panchtantra story – which I hope I shall know backwards even before you have a chance to type it out. How big the world is, but how accessible it is today (I hope). Thanks, Uma, for your comment. (P.S. – my TV doesn’t work, so I’m completely lost as to how/when/why NZ is smashing the hell outta India on the crease!

      Liked by 2 people

      Reply
      1. umashankar

        Bruce, it’s more like your neighbour who is kicking up dust out here. I am in the middle of a howling storm at the moment, but then that is the moniker of my webpage, is it not? It is almost as if I keep wishing turbulences upon me. Someday, I guess, I too shall turn into the hermit that you are. 🙂

        Liked by 2 people

        Reply
  3. Yvonne

    Thank you, you gave me my very first big laugh in Italy. This happened while I was eating some risotto in a humble ristorante, and resulted in a less than fastidious display. i blame you for my bad manners, of course.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Gentle thoughts and expressions of astoundedness are both gratefully accepted.

