1005. Dogs

4dogs

I love all animals, but especially dogs. I seem to relate to dogs. That’s why I run an animals shelter. All sorts of dogs come in here; unwanted dogs and puppies abandoned by their callous owners. The local city council helps by giving money for the food. Thank goodness.

Of course, not every dog is a purebred. Some people want only a purebred, and other people don’t seem to mind. I must admit I’m a natural; I love every dog to bits!

You’ve no idea how many dogs come in here. There are dozens every month. I’m practically bursting at the seams. It’s almost impossible to find enough suitable people to take and care for them as household pets.

Only this morning this man came and said he wanted a dog. I said, there they all are. Pick one. And what did he do? He picked a girl dog. A girl is no good, I said, you wouldn’t understand her. You’ve no idea how a woman feels. You need to pick a boy dog. He said, but the boy dogs have all been operated on and I wouldn’t know how that feels either. Silly man. He left without taking a dog.

Then there was the toffee-nosed hoity-toity lady. She wanted a purebred. You could tell she wanted it so she could be la-de-da. I said, sorry madam, but there are simply no dogs currently available.

The little spotted dog is called “Measles”. A man selected him and said, “We’ll have to change the name”. Change the name! The dog is used to its name. There’s no way I would let him take it away to cruelly name-change.

So many people wanting dogs… Of course, I insist they do a basic two-week dog handling training before having a dog. And I like to personally inspect their yard to make sure it’s suitable for the breed of dog they want. Do they have children? Because if they do, bring them in so I can see if the children and dog are compatible. Also I insist a prospective owner visit five or six times first to test compatibility. It’s amazing how often people give up because they’re not suitable.

So many abandoned dogs! So few true dog lovers! Here comes a lady now. Goodness! She’s dropping off eleven unwanted puppies. Awwww! Aren’t they just sooooooo cute? I’ll have to give them names.

21 thoughts on “1005. Dogs

  1. GP Cox

    I cherish all animals, but dogs have that unconditional love thing going for them that makes them extra special.
    I know the animals appreciate having a home to go to, there should be more like you. And there’s nothing wrong with having a mutt – I’ve had both pure breeds and mutts. The temperament seems best in the mixed breed. IMO

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Cynthia Jobin

    This is well written, Bruce….the character of the monologist is gradually and subtly revealed. He doesn’t really want any of the dogs to leave him, does he…. But this has brought a lot of tears; I so wish that I could adopt another dog….

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Bruce Goodman Post author

      Yes – thanks Cynthia. I suspect (in the story) more and more dogs wouldn’t be adopted out! I feel for you not being able to get another dog. I swore we wouldn’t get another, but we are getting a springer spaniel on 21st November. The story above is based a little on the difficulty we had trying to get another dog. There are now so many government regulations – they even said the landlord would have to submit to an interview! What landlord would consent to that? In the end, we had to go for a purebred – privately sold. At present he’s only 5 weeks old – black and white. I have no picture as yet!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. Cynthia Jobin

        Sounds like a nice dog, Bruce. I think I read on some other comment that you were going to name the puppy Bubbles…..which I at first mistakenly read as “Bubba”… because you said it was a boy…..and I had a good giggle about that name. So many affectionately named “Bubba’s” in the Southern USA!

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
        1. Bruce Goodman Post author

          It’s (Eric’s decision apparently – I named Delia!) Bubble without the “S” on the end – as he has a single tiny spot on the nose. As he is a thoroughbred – his full name is meant to be Chatto Bridge Over Troubled Water. There were go!

          Have you thought of getting a LITTLE (no yappy) old dog?

          Liked by 1 person

          Reply
          1. Cynthia Jobin

            Yes, I have thought of that; and I once swore, in my hale and heartier days, that I would never be one of those dames with a handbag dog, or a yappy little mop-head. Unless someone around here, even older than I, suddenly turns up the toes and leaves a little old dog as an orphan, chances are slim of finding an appropriate one. Medium-sized to large dogs have always been the dogginess of dog to me. My sister just adopted a golden retriever puppy and I am hoping that once it calms down a bit, she will leave it with me when she has to work long hours or wants to go on vacation. I have a large, grassy fenced-in yard, and can still toss a mean frisbee, though walking with a leash is out of the question….I should get me an electric scooter…..

            Liked by 1 person

            Reply

Gentle thoughts and expressions of astoundedness are both gratefully accepted.

