Music 101: A plagal cadence

101last

Let me tell you a story (or two) to celebrate the last of the music postings! As some of you know, almost every note of the music over the last 101 compositions has been composed using only the computer mouse and a free program downloaded off the net! I have no electronic music keyboard, so everything gets composed with little clicks! Quite a few years ago, in my young teaching days, I had an electronic keyboard – a Korg! What a wonderful thing it was! As technology developed, it could be connected up to the computer. I lent it for a year to a student of mine called Craig. He used it in a rock band at university, although his main strength was playing the double bass in an orchestra. The Korg died not long after its return, and I’ve never had a music keyboard since; hence the challenge (and fun) of trying to compose something with just a mouse! I see that Craig lives in Paris these days. His assets are valued in the multi-millions! I dream that he’ll one day phone me up out of the blue and say “How’d you like another Korg!”

When I lived in North Carolina my next door neighbour was Mr. Robert Moog, the inventor of the Moog synthesiser. He’s passed on now. I never met him personally.

Thanks for listening over these last 101 compositions. As you may know, the monthly poems ceased on the 1st of this month with five limericks; and the daily stories, with story 1001, finish this coming Thursday the 7th. That’s tomorrow! Amen! And for those who know music theory, that’s usually a plagal cadence!

26 thoughts on “Music 101: A plagal cadence

  1. chrisnelson61

    once had a Moog – great sounds but (this was the early eighties) it was monophonic , so not too much of a keyboard! Perhaps one day you’ll return to your musical interludes. All the best. Chris

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. umashankar

    Soft as a rose
    The light from the East
    As if all is forgiven
    And wolves become sheep
    We are who we are
    Or we’re not
    But at least
    We’ll eventually all fall asleep
    Eventually all fall asleep.
    ~Paul Simon (Insomniac’s Lullaby)

    Such grace and panache, sparkling wit and mischievous humour. Your daily servings will be missed.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. inesephoto

    I loved your stories, Bruce, and I will definitely go back and read whatever stories I have missed. They are humorous but stunningly true slices of fictional life. Your music will be missed too.
    Hope Craig remembers to whom he owes at least a part of his success.
    I owe you a lot of chuckles 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. Cynthia Jobin

    I seem to have missed this one, but have been systematically listening to and enjoying your music compositions. I like the serious/sad ones the best. If I could compose music as well as you do, I’d put my cat lullaby (Sleep, My Little Cabbage) to music. But I can’t, so I won’t. I’m glad you are keeping these accessible.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Bruce Goodman Post author

      Thanks, Cynthia. Glad someone is enjoying them! Am about to watch the first of the US presidential debates. Am about to make a nice cup of coffee and sit prepared to doze on the sofa! Do you have the written tune to “Sleep, My Little Cabbage”?

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. Cynthia Jobin

        It’s 11:30 pm here….of course I watched the debate too..OMG what can I say? Hillary surely rubs me the wrong way…Trump is holding back a bit (he was gentlemanly and didn’t take advantage of some zingers he could have made) maybe saving stuff for the next debates when she will be repeating the same formulaic stuff again.
        I’m going to have a snifter of brandy and go to bed. My “little cabbage” lullaby is really just a simple refrain + verses situation. It’s in my blog archives from this past March….

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply

This is the chattanooga choo chew the fat chat:

