Music 82: Hippeastrums in April

82april

It’s April, and the showy Hippeastrums are in flower!

(For many years there was confusion among botanists over the generic names Amaryllis and Hippeastrum, one result of which is that the common name “amaryllis” is mainly used for cultivars of this genus, often sold as indoor flowering bulbs particularly at Christmas in the northern hemisphere. By contrast the generic name Amaryllis applies to bulbs from South Africa, usually grown outdoors. The genus is native to tropical and subtropical regions of the Americas from Argentina north to Mexico and the Caribbean.)

21 thoughts on “Music 82: Hippeastrums in April

  1. thecontentedcrafter

    Your specimens are beautiful! I see them parading in a stately dance with your music – most befitting. And then coming to that abrupt end – as in when you glance up and see all the petals have fallen off just while your head was turned.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
    1. Bruce Goodman Post author

      The abrupt ending is more the result of my inadequate computer program!! As for them “parading” – see my comment to Susanne! I had quite a collection of Hippeastrums but my current house is so dark – eaves and dark painted walls – that all pot plants have shrivelled up and died.

      Like

      Reply
  2. arlingwoman

    Love the jazzy tone of this. They are very lush flowers. Someone gave me one once (at Christmas) and I planted it outside my garden in the spring. It blossomed for several years and then gave up, but I thought it showed some grit, wintering over.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. Cynthia Jobin

    I usually toss my indoor Christmas hippeastrum once it has done its thing, though some people around here (zone 5) claim to have planted it with a success of bloom several seasons more. The amaryllis, on the other hand, don’t ever show up in Maine; it’s too cold for naked ladies.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Bruce Goodman Post author

      Thank goodness you call a bella donna a naked lady – as I do!! I collected the hippeastrums for quite a few years – there’s hundreds of colours, although I suspect the red ones and white ones might be the Xmas ones? Here, as you see, they flower April-May-June.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. Cynthia Jobin

        The year I turned sixty, my friend Mary presented me on my birthday in January with six differently- colored hippeastrum bulbs, each in a fancy crockery pot; they grew and bloomed beautifully indoors, by the sea, almost until April.

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
        1. Bruce Goodman Post author

          Gosh – what a lovely gift! Next Wednesday’s bit of music is called “Hippeastrums in May” as this was “Hippeastrums in April”! They are certainly flowers that are “not slow in coming forward”!

          Liked by 1 person

          Reply

Gentle thoughts and expressions of astoundedness are both gratefully accepted.

