880. A stint in town

880stint

There were so many birthdays coming up all at once. Christine had to go into town “for a considerable stint” to get it all out of the way. There were gifts for Harry, and Tess, and Lenny. There was beer to get and various items of food. And wrapping paper! She’d almost forgotten that! Imagine coming home after “a considerable stint” in town and have nothing to wrap the presents up in! And did Laughlin want to come? Was he busy? Could he lend a hand?

Laughlin was her husband.

No, he couldn’t come. He couldn’t spare the time. There was a pile of paper work to get through.

An hour or two passed, and Christine was heading back to the car loaded with packages. She should have got her keys out earlier. How could she hold all the parcels and fumble in her purse for car keys at the same time? And then she saw it…

…her husband. Walking down the steps from the entrance to a house of ill-repute. She knew it was a house of ill repute. Everyone knew it was a house of ill-repute. Her husband disappeared around a distant street corner.

Christine reached the car and drove home. Her husband was home, fussing over papers.

“Get much done?” enquired Christine.

“Lots,” said Laughlin.

Christine carried on as usual. As always.

40 thoughts on “880. A stint in town

      1. Cynthia Jobin

        Wouldn’t it be nice if there were no strings attached, nothing too sticky to deal with…

        Around here, a lot of people have stopped wrapping gifts and just use pretty gift bags with tissue paper inside, fluffed around the gift for presentation….

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
        1. Bruce Goodman Post author

          It’s the fun of opening it! I don’t like those who delicately remove each bit of sticky tape slowly like they’re eating an ice cream. I like it wrapped, and then to tear the paper off. I guess a book could be written about how people open their parcels.

          Liked by 1 person

          Reply
          1. Cynthia Jobin

            I agree! I love to rip the paper off, crumple it and throw it on the floor, whereupon Chloë has a great time playing with it. I’ve known people who open very carefully, fold the wrapping neatly and save it for re-use. There’s also a certain satisfaction making those perfectly neat corners in wrapping a box….I once had a job over the Christmas season in the gift-wrap area of a department store… wrapped and be-ribboned several hundred gifts a day.

            Liked by 1 person

            Reply
            1. Bruce Goodman Post author

              I always like to wrap the presents myself, even though the gift-wrappers in the malls do a much better job. But I love shutting the door knowing others know that I’m wrapping a present, and they can hear the folding and cutting of paper, and the sticky tape roll making a noise, and the scissors going snip snip!

              Liked by 2 people

              Reply
              1. Cynthia Jobin

                This is being a very odd conversation, but since you mentioned eating ice cream I’ll make it even odder by updating you on my ice cream machine. I’ve made your hokey pokey and it’s absolutely delicious, though a bit treacherous to my elderly teeth. French vanilla will probably always be my favorite…..and I can always gussy it up with chocolate sauce, candies, fruit, etc depending on the mood. I didn’t think I’d like this gifted gizmo, but I do. Next week I’m thinking to be really risqué and make avocado gelato.

                Liked by 2 people

                Reply
                1. Bruce Goodman Post author

                  I’m jealous. I have only bought ice cream. The hokey-pokey is certainly hard on the teeth. You’re going to like your sister’s Christmas gift (I hope it was wrapped) more and more as the summer progresses. Re the avocado – my mother once made vegetable ice cream (to be served as a salad to accompany the meat dish). It was disgusting but provided everyone (including mother) with a good laugh!

                  Liked by 1 person

                  Reply
                  1. Cynthia Jobin

                    I can imagine vegetable ice cream would be strange, depending on the vegetable(s). Avocado gelato, is a dessert, though, and supposedly very sweet and creamy, and calls for just milk, sugar, orange zest, lemon juice, and a couple of whipped avocados. Apparently, like all Sicilian gelato, the secret is simmering it with corn starch instead of eggs and heavy cream. Once it thickens and cools, put it all in the machine, and voila! Maybe Yvonne’s had some, in Italy.

                    Liked by 2 people

                    Reply
                    1. Yvonne

                      No, I haven’t had avocado gelato. I guess I’ll just have to go back and find some, and do a taste test.

                      The comments section really did wander far off the beaten track this time! So unusual …

                      Liked by 2 people

                    2. Cynthia Jobin

                      Something in the air, Yvonne. I’m noticing usual blog trends are at variance just now. Thought it was just me…plugging away here because I have a terrible cold and can’t sleep and surf the net for entertainment….at this point, you are the entertainment1

                      Liked by 2 people

                    3. Yvonne

                      Right-o, Bruce Almighty, where are you? Could we do a song and dance routine for our friend who is feeling poorly? Shall I start without you, perhaps?

                      Blasted colds, those viruses sure know how to make us feel lousy.

                      Liked by 2 people

                    4. Bruce Goodman Post author

                      Oh – get well Cynthia – a cold will last 3 days before being a mere gunk – so be brave… and speaking of blogs – everyone seems to have disappeared except for the good old faithfuls. Is it me? Or is there some sort of trend going on?>

                      Liked by 1 person

  1. Cynthia Jobin

    Now Bruce, Yvonne is certainly a better poet than that! Yes…something web wise is vaguely rotten and it isn’t in the state of Denmark. I have no ivory tusks to trade, but what would I not give to see that song and dance routine with Yvonne and Bruce…? I would rise from my pallet and cry “I am cured! I am cured!”

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Yvonne

      Oi!!! That was meant to be prose, not a po-em!! Jeez. The people with whom I up put. Including, it seems Lazarus, or the female version, whatever (or whomever) that would be.

      I’d like to discuss the former Chief of Staff of the former (thank whomever) Prime Minister of the great Land of Oz.

      Liked by 2 people

      Reply
          1. Bruce Goodman Post author

            I taught this kid how to dance (years ago) and he now choreographs the routines of 8 strip clubs. He says that I taught him “everything he needs to know”. Is that a compliment or what?

            Liked by 2 people

            Reply
  2. southamptonoldlady

    This is the sort of thing I would have done (YouTube) https://youtu.be/-3VVUHC3dIE an incredible live video. A woman goes shopping in Columbia and notices her husband driving around with his mistress in the car that she (the wife) has paid for. She stands in front of the car and won’t move until “that bitch gets out”(and lots of other Spanish swear words). At first people are annoyed, but as the crowds gather, she gets more sympathy especially from women and one even hands her a rolling pin!

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply

Gentle thoughts and expressions of astoundedness are both gratefully accepted.

