Award 15: Like a dog

one-lovely

I have been nominated for the One Lovely Blog Award. I have had the joy of receiving this award before but, like a dog, return to lick the bowl. Thank you to Snapshot Vignettes for the nomination. Nonnaci, the blogger of Snapshot Vignettes, enjoys “coming up with new perspectives and weaving them into scenarios that would otherwise never see the light of day”. It is an honor – always – to be nominated.

1lov

1. Thank the person who nominated you and provide a link to their blog.
2. List the rules and display the award.
3. Add 7 facts about yourself.
4. Nominate 10 – 15 bloggers for the award…

2lov

I thought I would share seven of some of the best places in the world where I have been to:

1. Wakarara

waka1

waka2

This is where I lived as a kid. I knew every nook and cranny of the river. It is called the Makaroro River. The river would frequently flood, and the cliff face would crash into the river with a BOOM! My widowed Irish great grandmother bought a farm here, farmed it herself, and brought up her two daughters and four sons. They were a lot more adventuresome in them olden days!

2. Peka Peka

peka1

peka2

This is where I lived as a teenager. We milked cows. It was near the sea. The land was sand hills and peat swamps. The house, sheds, and farm have given way to a new huge motorway system. Even if I wanted to revisit the place, it has been bulldozed away.

3. Tongatapu

tonga1

Years ago I had to go to Nuku’alofa, the capital of Tonga, situated on the main island of Tongatapu. One of the days was the King’s Birthday. The whole country went on a picnic! I thought the place was paradise. If you were thirsty someone would scale a coconut palm, grab a coconut, machete off the top, and pass the milk to drink. The food for the picnic was placed on the ground upon spread-out banana tree leaves. Everyone sat on the ground to eat – no plates, no knives and forks! A picnic! And then you could swim in the warm coral waters.

4. Walden Pond

walden1

When I studied in Boston I would often drive to Walden Pond for a walk around the lake. The place reeked of literary giants! What a delightful place for reflection. And lots of water fowl and snakes curled up in the vegetation! So different for this little country boy from the backblocks of New Zealand!

5. Sonora Desert

sonora1  sonora2

Was there ever a place so different? Heat, rocks, saguaro, cacti of all shapes, snakes, scorpions, lizards, road runners, coyotes… I loved, loved, loved the whole darn place!

6. Weston

vermont1 vermont2

This is a little village and area in Vermont. Stone walls, chipmunks, apple trees, many a path diverging in a yellow wood… A friend owned a holiday home in the mountains, and I could go there and read Robert Frost whenever I wished. Always with the same condition: when in residence I must fly the American flag – which I gladly did!

7. Fürstenzell

furst1

furst2

This is a little village and area in Bavaria. It has an ancient monastery and school. How different from anything I had seen before. The school library (pictured) was unbelievable. The buildings, inside and out, were optical illusions! I thought the colonnades of marble statues were real, until someone pointed out they were paintings on a flat wall! Cherubs literally tumbled from every church ceiling. Here was the milieu that produced Bach, Haydn, Mozart, Beethoven… I was totally out of my league as the “ignorant farmers” turned up at Christmas midnight and “performed” a Mozart Mass.

3lov

As many of you know (and this is a little unfair perhaps) I don’t do nominations. But I like to recommend to others, other bloggers. It fulfils the intention of the Awards System anyway; sharing the insights of others with others… Here then are the ten most recent bloggers who have begun to follow my blog. If they wish to accept this as a nominations and respond, they are more than welcome! Thank you again Snapshot Vignettes for the nomination.

TanGental
Pratyushbat
BYLUIS7
Theycallmeaish
The Breakaway
Siddhidiksha
Althaea Rose
JGoodWithSports
Something Like a Storybook
Firewing Photography

4lov

29 thoughts on “Award 15: Like a dog

  1. Cynthia Jobin

    Oh the places you have been! Two of them are favorite places of mine….Walden Pond, of course, and once , in the Sonora Desert, I had the strangest feeling I had been there in a former life. But that’s how Arizone, and the desert can be. All of the places…lovely.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
  2. Susanne

    I am always drawn to tropical islands, the complete opposite of February in Ottawa, but I also think camping out in that library would be beyond compare. On a completely different note, I like the sweater you’re wearing in the Vermont photo. It looks hand made. Your mother’s nandiwork?

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. umashankar

    Nostalgic, exotic, succulent, dreamlike accounts of places, the yellow wood where you’d read Robert Frost, the flat wall of the library that cast an illusion of colonnades of marble statues, the place that reeked of literary giants… Wonderful way too recollect all those places, Bruce.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
          1. umashankar

            It is. Then it is not if you have both time and money. When I was a kid the world was still bigger but I knew I was going to live forever, which of course isn’t true but didn’t occur to me. And I thought I’d go everywhere, even those godforsaken places in Sahara and Antarctica…

            Liked by 1 person

            Reply

This is the chattanooga choo chew the fat chat:

