800. They’re away today

(No audio today!)

My Master is away today and it is meant to be the 800th story on the 800th day. We really can’t let the occasion go by without a commemoration of some sort. Usually I’m not allowed near the computer, but since no one is here, I shall step in and take charge.

My name is Delia. I am a dog. It’s certainly a dog’s life, and I seem to be the dog’s body around here.

1delia

The first thing I did this morning was to jump into a proper bed and have a sleep-in. Normally I’m not allowed anywhere near the bed, let alone under the blankets.

2delia

The next thing I did was to get Jeeves (he’s the butler) to drive me around the farm. There are so many animals to keep in order.

3delia

When I got back it was time for my walk. I don’t know how they managed to arrange it but somehow the Pope took me, as you can see from the picture. The crowds were phenomenal.

4delia

Then of course it was time to eat, so the cat said grace first (she is such a hypocrite). She did it obviously because the Pope was there. She never usually bothers.

5delia

And then (you won’t believe this) after eating she pretended to read the Bible.

6delia

Of course, the Pope told us to be nice to everyone, so I’ve been trying. First with the silly old cow.

7delia

And then with her silly old calf.

8delia

And finally with the silly old stuffed toy. I’m sick of kissing everyone.

9delia

I’m not going to be nice to the goat. He’s a bit of an old devil.

10delia

Hark! (or rather, Bark!) I hear a car! They’re arriving back home! I shall hastily press the post button for all of this. The cat and I shall sit on the veranda and look innocent.

11delia

We haven’t done a thing all day. We’ve been so good. Have a nice day one and all!

46 thoughts on “800. They’re away today

  1. Wendy

    The pope is a busy guy, Delia must be very devout, or performing miracles for her Sainthood. Very impressive.
    I must say, if the Pope showed up at my house, I’d say Grace too. Although I don’t know the Catholic version very well, and I might be backward in my genuflection!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
      1. Cynthia Jobin

        When I was a kid, one of the most wonderful, funniest things was when a dog wandered down the main aisle of the church during Mass…..then nobody paid attention to the service and either snickered or tsk..tsk-ed as several men would go into a tizzy, trying to get the dog out. From this I learned that dogs don’t belong in church.

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
          1. Cynthia Jobin

            Now I’m not sure…I see little difference between dogs and gods, but as I told Susanne, I used to say kee-koo rather than coo-kie, so I may have to admit to a bit of dyslexia after all these years……DYSLEXICS OF THE WORLD, UNTIE!

            Liked by 1 person

            Reply
        1. Bruce Goodman Post author

          Further to that… when I was in the parish in Thames (New Zealand) this elderly woman would bring her lap dog to daily mass. It was always very well behaved and she would bring it up to the altar rails at communion time for a blessing!!

          Liked by 1 person

          Reply
    1. Bruce Goodman Post author

      Thank you. Delia used to have her own blog – with quite a few followers – but it got out of hand when quite a few other dogs, and cats, and a number of canaries and chickens, started writing her long emails. Responding to them took up too much of her time, so she let her blog fade into obsoleteness.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

This is the chattanooga choo chew the fat chat:

