43 thoughts on “Music 58: Snowdrop

  1. Cynthia Jobin

    Never is there truly such a need…..still we complicate it anyway.
    Are these your very own Tui birds, or a canned track? Sweet and delightful is the music, and that passage in the center of the audio reminds me of the Prioress’s song in the musical Canterbury Tales…”Amor Vincit Omnia”…for some strange reason. Maybe the processional feeling, the dignified cadence. Anyway, a lovely piece for an afternoon with just enough sun coming through my window to make a few rainbows from Pauline’s light catcher!

    Liked by 4 people

    Reply
    1. Bruce Goodman Post author

      I made the birds up on the computer – but the real tuis are scheduled to sing on Wednesday 16th March 2016! Real tui song is a cross between a truck grating its gears and the backing beeps! (I really dislike being so far ahead – it might remove stress but it takes away the fun!) I’m delighted it goes with Pauline’s light catcher! The only song I know from the Canterbury Tales (oh! how predictable am I?) is “I have a noble cock”.

      Liked by 2 people

      Reply
    2. thecontentedcrafter

      Cynthia I imagined Bruce leaning out his study window, arms stretched towards the trees, holding his microphone while simultaneously playing the track to get the completed piece…….. You can tell my technological expertise is somewhat dated, but oh how my imagination lies shattered!

      Liked by 4 people

      Reply
        1. thecontentedcrafter

          Speaking as the queen of multi-tasking this is one of the rare occasions when I find myself agreeing with a) men and b) scientists. πŸ™‚

          Multi-tasking is very bad for you. Instead of giving yourself wholeheartedly up to the task you are undertaking and completing it with full attention to detail and clearing your head of all extraneous chatter at the same time, thus inducing a kind of meditative quality to the work; the multi-tasker juggles a dozen balls, moves quickly if not completely efficiently and in the long term drains her energy to ensure chronic exhaustion, if not illness as her future lot.

          When I find myself teetering on the brink of multi-tasking now my mantra is ‘Be a Man!’ πŸ™‚

          Liked by 2 people

          Reply
  2. thecontentedcrafter

    I have just come over from perusing my copy of Cynthia’s beautiful book which arrived in this mornings mail….. I was reading the poem on the back cover ‘To a Tulip’ which led in so nicely to ‘Snowdrop’. I think life is so full of complexities and layers and intriguing serendipities there is never any reason to make it more complicated. And despite the fact that I never knew there is a musical version of The Canterbury Tales I enjoyed this medieval processional honouring our little white friends. [Which Siddy had to be encouraged NOT to pee on during his morning walks!]

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
    1. Cynthia Jobin

      I am totally amazed the book got to you so fast. I didn’t send it immediately when you ordered it (I can’t get to the P.O. and have to rely on help) but it only was sent last Wednesday….less than a week! Why does it take so long to get to Australia, I wonder….two, three weeks! Complexities, layers, serendipities, as you say. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Gentle thoughts and expressions of astoundedness are both gratefully accepted.

