733. Glorious wealth

733wealth

(I won’t be available for responding to comments – or adding comments to your own blogs – over the next day or so. Feel free to continue to have your say here! The stories shall continue to get posted. I shall be back!)

Although Gloria was one of the richest women in the country she didn’t flaunt it. It was family money. She had inherited it. She had grown up rich and was used to being careful with the pennies. She wasn’t a miser by any means; she lived comfortably; in fact, more than comfortably.

Her one regret, at least early in life, was that her wealth prevented her from living a normal life; especially the business of falling in love. Every guy she met she wondered if he was after her money. And then… oh yes! – she fell in love. She never thought it would happen but it did. André! André was the one. He didn’t care about her wealth; he cared about her!

But one day, just before the wedding day, maybe a week or two, she overheard him on the phone.

“Yeah – the marriage is just for a couple of years. Then I should get enough money from the settlement to live a life. It’s a bit like having to endure slowly working your way up the employment ladder, except this will be quicker. And a lot more profitable.”

Gloria was devastated. Devastated! She was wrung out like a rag. Her emotion was overwhelming. She vomited with grief. She didn’t have the energy (she couldn’t help it) to do anything about it.

37 thoughts on “733. Glorious wealth

  1. southamptonoldlady

    Strange end – but more true I suppose. When I was little my Mother won the ‘football pools’ (enough to buy a house and throw a few parties). I remember overhearing people in the hallway discuss how much they could get out of her this time. Our house was continually burgled and kids in the street would beat me if I didn’t bring them bars of chocolate. My mum drank it all and became blind after a car accident. So I don’t even buy charity lottery tickets, though I have alternated from being poor to rich most of my life. And money has never been an issue in any of my relationships.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
  2. Cynthia Jobin

    After being cautious all her life previously about gold diggers, she didn’t recognize this one, because she fell in love….love can make a person crazy, stupid, blind……but Gloria’s discovery is such a big hurt, so extreme…I agree with Pauline, and I think she won’t go through with the wedding. Take a hike, André!

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
  3. Cynthia Jobin

    Let’s see…we’re at story #733, music #53, and poem #14, according to the sidebar here. By my calculations, that makes it 800 at the moment…but I don’t know if he’s putting them all in the mix, or just the stories….

    Like

    Reply
  4. Oscar Alejandro Plascencia

    I’ve always said, Love is blind, deaf, dumb and stupid. Oh but isn’t it grand all the same when you’re need deep in it? Gloria needs to ram her knee into André’s crotch! That won’t make him love her, but he’ll be blind, deaf, dumb and stupid for a few minutes!

    Like

    Reply

This is the chattanooga choo chew the fat chat:

