26 thoughts on “Music 52: In memory of my mother

  1. Cynthia Jobin

    4:30 a.m. everyone else is sleeping; it’s the only quiet, alone time for the busy mother of a brood. My mother used to do the same thing.

    I hear a lot of energy in this music, and variety; it’s hard and soft. It doesn’t end, it just stops.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
  2. thecontentedcrafter

    When I was teaching Bruce I used to get up at 4.30 am every day. It was my meditative time, my preparation for the day time and the only quiet time I got in 24 hours. I understand the early rising thing for busy people. I agree with Cynthia – there is also, I think, a happy quality to the music. The sudden stop is a little shocking!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. Shubha Athavale

    What a practical lady your Mum was. She obviously achieved a lot each day. My mother’s been gone seven and I remember she would start her day with a bhajan that she sang ( a bhajan is a devotional song).

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. Susanne

    This sounds like Morris dancers who’ve had a few too many brew. My husband says it could be the theme music for a Morris dancer crime drama. We like it although It doesn’t sound maternal to me.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Bruce Goodman Post author

      LOL! Anyone who was going to do Morris Dancing must surely have had one too many even before starting!!! I tried to avoid the “maternal” bit – sort of avoid the strings and sentiment and just went for the … aha! Morris Dancing… or maybe the gin and tonic in the evenings!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  5. noelleg44

    What a lovely tribute to your mother! I managed to sleep in until 5:30 when my kids were growing up – had to be out the door by 8, breakfasted, lunches made, homework gathered, sports equipment on board. Two schools to go to, and then work!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  6. Oscar Alejandro Plascencia

    A lively and fast paced tune, I can see your mother up and about tending to all the daily chores to the beat of this music: making beds, beating carpets, folding laundry, milking the cow, collecting the eggs, etc. etc. etc. Then finally flopping onto a chair at the musical full stop. Very nice tribute.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

If you have a thought to flout Now's the time to shout it out:

