704. Anyway, there was this girl

704anyway

Anyway, there was this girl. I had only just met her the night before, at a party at the surf club. Not that I belonged to the surf club but anyone could go to the beach party, and since I was staying at the beach for a week or so over summer I went to the party. And I met this girl.

And the next day we accidently ran into each other again, and we were lying next to each other on our towels on the sand. We were sunbathing. And I asked her if she could rub some suntan lotion on my back, hoping of course that one thing would lead to another. Not on the beach mind, but later somewhere or something. So she rubbed the suntan lotion on my back, and I had to make sure I didn’t turn over because that could’ve been embarrassing, with me in my speedos.

And then she asked me to rub suntan lotion on her back and the strings to the top part of her bikini were undone and I had to turn over but what the heck, these things are just natural anyway. So I did that and we were lying down again when this big muscular freak came ambling up the beach like he owned it. And he was one of the surf life-savers who spend three quarters of their day in the gym and the other quarter hoping people wouldn’t drown. And he kicked sand all over my back, which was greasy from the suntan lotion.

Well, I thought I’d better not make a fuss, because of the girl. I wanted her to see how nice I really was. And the guy came back and kicked more sand, and this time at the girl as well. So I said, “What did you do that for?” and he just laughed and said, “Go fuck yourself.”

Then the girl said, “Why didn’t you stand up for me, you wimp?” and I said I was just trying to be nice.

So the girl upped and left and ran after the muscular surfer, and as far as I know they went into the back of the surfing club building, and whatever-her-name-is and the surfer have been doing it for the last half hour.

34 thoughts on “704. Anyway, there was this girl

  1. Cynthia Jobin

    You are a master of characterization, Bruce… insight maybe gleaned over considerable time and in many places, that stems from puzzlement, empathy, keen observation of fellow human beings.
    ( Sometimes I think I meet the ghostly presences of Flannery O’Connor or G.K.Chesterton in your stories….though probably not both at the same time…that would be a tête a tête interesting to imagine!)

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
    1. Bruce Goodman Post author

      What a thrilling comment, thanks Cynthia. Probably part of the characterization process might stem from having written lots of plays… Flannery and Gilbert have a coffee together somewhere could reveal something wonderful! I once wrote a play in which I had Edmund Campion meet Margaret Clitherow. They are both very great English Reformation saints. I was interested to know what would happen when two of the most intelligent persons of the Elizabethan era met up. All that happened was Edmund Campion asked Margaret Clitherow if she would sew a button on his jacket!

      Liked by 2 people

      Reply
      1. Cynthia Jobin

        Where can I find the script? Or is it like those scripts written so long ago for student plays (because we could not afford the royalties to buy well known scripts and librettos) for all the beautiful, imaginative performances which shall remain—as theatre must—a magical moment of sound and light….

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
          1. Bruce Goodman Post author

            Handel borrowed extensively from himself (he actually did – which is why his operas are rarely performed, they’re such a mess) so I would like to think that gazing goats and grazing sheep… and cows safely chewing their cuds, could’ve occurred!

            Liked by 1 person

            Reply
                    1. Bruce Goodman Post author

                      A lovely rendition – with beautiful accompanying photos. (And not at all like Handel’s “Where goats may safely gaze”!) I think part of the beauty of the Bach piece is it’s apparent simplicity.

                      Liked by 1 person

      1. arlingwoman

        Steve wrote The City of New Orleans and a bazillion other country and folk songs you’ve probably heard in the ether. Not to mention Go Cubs Go and The Dying Cub Fan’s Last Request, which only fans of the Chicago Cubs Baseball team would know

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply

This is the chattanooga choo chew the fat chat:

