Awards 2 and 3: Both neat and beautiful

© Bruce Goodman 22 June 2015

I have been nominated for two awards by Alex Raphael: the Real Neat Blog Award and the Beautiful Bloggers Award. I blush with pride. Thank you, Alex. Click on his name and you’ll fly magically to his site.

Nomination 2 & 3. The Real Neat Blog Award and the Beautiful Bloggers Award.

img_3691

img_3693

Incidentally, the badges for these awards have been tidied up (marvellously recreated would be a better term) by Oscar Alejandro Plascencia at In So Many Words.

As part of accepting, I must needs answer 10 questions and then pass the torch to other bloggers.

First, the ten questions I am to answer:

1. If you could own one painting, which one would you choose and why?

I’m “old fashioned” when it comes to selecting a painting. I like a painting I can go and live in. So my selected favorite would probably be something out of the American tradition, such as some sort of rural scene with lots of chickens and pigs and farmyard barns – sort of like this one by Kenneth Andler.

andler

2. Which literary character would you most like to hang out with?

Heathcliff from “Wuthering Heights”, provided he didn’t go on and on forever mooching about Cathy.

heathcliff

3. Have you ever gone in costume for a fancy dress party? What did you go as?

I once went to a fancy dress party dressed as a tube of toothpaste. I won the overall prize and also got squeezed in a number of exciting ways.

toothtube

4. What is your favorite thing that anyone has ever said about your blog?

“Why are these stories not published?”

blogpub

5. Which sporting moment would you most like to have seen live?

I would like to have been there when the early Olympics were held in Ancient Greece. Apparently everyone competed in the nude, which might have proved entertaining.

olympics

6. What film do you hate that most people like?

“The Lord of the Rings” ones, followed closely by “The Hobbit” trilogy. All of these are beaten by every attempt to make a film out of “Wuthering Heights”. In general, I dislike films based on novels; it destroys the imagination.

lordofjackson

7. What item in your room has most sentimental value?

My paternal grandfather’s ashtray. I don’t smoke but I keep in it seeds from various plants that I’m drying and will plant in the spring. At present I have pumpkin seeds in it. It’s an ashtray that advertises Buchanan’s “Black and White” Whiskey. My grandfather died in 1951. I do not remember him.

ashtraybnw

8. What did you want to be when you were a child?

I always wanted to be a marine biologist. We lived 60 miles from the sea, high in the mountains. I used to collect the “sea-shells” embedded in the rocks way up in the mountains. They were millions of years old, obviously, but I tried to identify them from pictures in books. When I was 5 or 6 I visited the beach for the first time and discovered where the rock-bound sea-shells started out.

shells3

9. Which famous landmark would you most like to live near to?

I would like to live near the Concord Bridge, Massachusetts. It’s where the Revolutionary War supposedly began in April 1775. It’s also near Walden Pond where Henry David Thoreau lived, as did Nathaniel Hawthorne and the Alcott Sisters. Also Charles Ives wrote “Concord Sonata” for piano, which captures the place in music.

concord

10. What one interest do you have that would surprise most of your blog readers?

I have a worm farm.

worms

Secondly, the ten questions for nominees:

1. What are you currently reading, if anything?
2. Who is (currently, like now) your favorite author?
3. Who is (currently, like now) your favorite composer?
4. Who is (currently, like now) your favorite artist/painter?
5. What is (currently, like now) your favorite flower?
6. Where in the world would you most like to live?
7. Name an embarrassing memory you’d like to go away.
8. How do you fill in the time at home on a cold, rainy day?
9 & 10 together because this is a big one. Say in no uncertain terms what you think of the Tax Department.

I realize that not everyone likes awards. May the nominees below feel free to dismiss their nomination with a “Humbug!”

Oscar Relentos
FärgaregårdsAnna – Annas Art
A Simple Life
In So Many Words
Zombie Flamingoes
Visual Poetry

19 thoughts on “Awards 2 and 3: Both neat and beautiful

    1. Bruce Goodman Post author

      Thanks Derrick. I was going to nominate you, and then thought that perhaps you had better and more productive things on your plate rather than the hoo-hah associated with awards. Is that, oh cryptic master, how you spell hoo-hah?

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. Cynthia Jobin

        I was a heavy smoker for twenty years, but quit in ’84. I have a wonderful collection of old ashtrays, which I used in my calligraphy studio—as you do—for all kinds of small objects like miscellaneous pen nibs. I must look them up on ebay!

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply

Gentle thoughts and expressions of astoundedness are both gratefully accepted.

