Poem 10: I heard the thrush sing

© Bruce Goodman 1 June 2015

10thrush

I heard the thrush sing
Gold on thorn
Gold on thorn
Tra-la-le-lay de-triddle-dwiddle-tay,
Lonesome in the morning.

I saw a lady love
Fly to thorn
Fly to thorn
Tra-la-le-lay de-triddle-dwiddle-tay,
Charming in the morning.

A nest was sturdy made
Safe in thorn
Safe in thorn
Tra-la-le-lay de-triddle-dwiddle-tay,
Homely in the morning.

The cat killed lady thrush
Dead at thorn
Dead at thorn
Tra-la-le-lay de-triddle-dwiddle-tay,
Swiftly in the morning.

I heard the thrush sing
Gold on thorn
Gold on thorn
Tra-la-le-lay de-triddle-dwiddle-tay,
Lonesome in the morning.

13 thoughts on “Poem 10: I heard the thrush sing

  1. Windy Mama

    It’s lovely and sounds kind of medieval folk-music-y like something a minstrel would sing while playing a lute. Do you have music to go with it?

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Bruce Goodman Post author

      Thanks. Only after posting it this morning did I think of putting it to music. I won’t (because I can’t sing) but no doubt countless numbers of future musicians will make good use of it (perhaps if only for toilet paper)!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  2. simon682

    I’ve just arranged it for lute and kazoo using a tune collected by Cecil Sharpe and swapping half of the triddle dwiddles for hey bonny nonnies. I don’t think I’ve improved it!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Gentle thoughts and expressions of astoundedness are both gratefully accepted.

