Poem 9: Back then

© Bruce Goodman 1 May 2015

9backthen

When I see a photo of me as a boy
I think
if only I’d thought differently

back then

I could’ve studied physics or french or latin
or other stuff for example
and played the violin or oboe or ukulele
or other stuff for example

apparently two roads diverged in a yellow wood
and maybe if I’d taken a more divergent trajectory
my poems would rhyme prop’ly
and scan

anyway if I had taken a contrary course
I’d probably see a photo of me as a boy
and think
if only I’d thought differently

back then

16 thoughts on “Poem 9: Back then

    1. Bruce Goodman Post author

      You’re welcome to have a wine/whine on my verandah any time! Thanks for liking the poem. I used to find poems easy to do, but 40/50 years ago the Muse dried up. Now one a month is like getting blood out of a stone.

      Like

      Reply
  1. simon682

    I like the way you thought back then as it led to way you think now. A pretty successful journey I would say. You can see the sparkle of your stories (and poems) in the young chap’s face.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

If you have a thought to flout Now's the time to shout it out:

