Poem 36: Grandfather Clock

(The poetic form selected for this month is the Burns stanza. However, even though I liked what I’d written it was a bit “hard-hitting” and I decided that some readers would get offended – so I wrote something modelled on the ghazal instead!!)

Once wound I am ignored, the old clock chimes.
Once loved and once adored, the old clock chimes.

Too weak and frail to spring from bed at dawn,
Men wait in old age ward. The old clock chimes.

Three! Three! Three at last! Thank God Almighty!
School is out! Praise the Lord! the old clock chimes!

Four times she runs late for work, just this week;
It’s what she can’t afford, the old clock chimes.

Five-green-bottles-hanging-on-the-wall song:
In which one is time stored? the old clock chimes.

Six steps on toes the ballerina goes,
Major lift, minor chord, the old clock chimes.

Severn is the river through Shrewsbury.
So? Just for the record, the old clock chimes.

Ate eight big eggs for breakfast, fried in fat,
And greasy bacon gnawed. The old clock chimes.

Nein, the Germans say. No! Trains leave on time!
Delay is much abhorred! The old clock chimes!

Tender are most maternal hearts, and kind;
Kids leave to go abroad, the old clock chimes.

Eleven days make way for dozens more.
In none is bliss forestalled. The old clock chimes.

Twelve heralds in the darkest midnight hour.
I’m timeworn… slow… and bored… The old clock chimes.

To hear the poem read aloud click HERE.

28 thoughts on “Poem 36: Grandfather Clock

  1. Shubha Athavale

    Bruce, with time, you are becoming a shayar. A ghazal writer. I loved, loved this one.
    My favourite couplet is
    Tender are most maternal hearts, and kind;
    Kids leave to go abroad, the old clock chimes.
    My 29 year old baby has not gone abroad, but 828.8 Km from Sydney for 3 months is far enough for me…..

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
    1. Yvonne

      Hey, WordPress, I wasn’t finished with my comment!

      I was going to add, could you please send us the original, in a plain wrapper, so we can judge for ourselves whether to be offended, or not.
      😇

      Liked by 2 people

      Reply

Please feel free to spout, tout, flout, sprout, pout, or simply say something sensible